Melina Gunnett

April 3, 2011

Things Aren’t Always What They Seem

Filed under: Odd Thoughts — Melina Gunnett @ 10:43 PM

Sometimes it is all about perspective.

Today probably should have been a “bad day”. I was late to class because I was printing out rental application forms. When I got to the school the main student parking lot was blocked off for a motorcycle class and we had to park one lot beyond BFE, which made me even later. Not that we really cover anything in class, it was almost all review of last week, so 3 hours mostly wasted. Then I drove out to Ayer. 4 prospective renters were supposed to meet me, none showed up. One at least sent me an e-mail asking to reschedule. I then went to dinner, everything was too greasy (It was Thai food, too much grease wasn’t even something I would have thought of worrying about.) All in all I am tired and accomplished nothing today.

Still, I can’t consider it a bad day. The sun was out today. I mean really out. Everything was coated in a golden hue and I was awake in a way I haven’t felt in a while. I was noticing things today; little details that I hadn’t really paid attention to. That made today amazing.

There is a warehouse in Charlestown that I must have passed hundreds of not thousands of times in the last 15 years. I never noticed the art-deco trim that had been worked into the windows. It must have been beautiful building when it was put up.

There is construction on 495 – the have been working on the section of road around the Lowell connector for ages. Today no one was working, but there was a flag hanging from a crane. It was hung upside down and at half mast. Was this an accident or real sign of distress?

There were birds everywhere today. Brown geese, in the sunlight have beautiful markings. Pigeons even have a lovely metallic sheen to their feathers.

The sun played on everything today. Dark tree skeletons shown out through golden branches. Shadows of tree stumps stretched across the marshes. Sparkles from the river gleamed through the trees. The sparse white buildings in Harvard gleamed and the town looked the way I picture a New England small town when I read about one in a book.

Even when it grew dark, the skies were still clear. The light city of Boston had the sharp distinct lines I usually only see on post cards, not a could or smudge of smog in sight.

With all those images swirling around in my mind, I just don’t have room to think about the petty frustrations of the day. It really is all about perspective.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

