Melina Gunnett

April 17, 2011

Thoughts on Time

Filed under: Odd Thoughts — Melina Gunnett @ 9:25 PM

I have long marveled at how much some of my more productive friends get done during a day and wondered how they do it. While I was sorting through at stack of stuff that had accumulated while I was sick, I found my mind drifting back to this familiar lament and wondering “Am I doing it wrong or am I just lazy?”

4 hours later I had 4 neat to-do piles and several dozen little things that “just take a minute” done. I also had a page long list of things I either should have already done, or needed/wanted to do really soon. While staring at the list, that proverbial light bulb we have all heard about finally came on. Maybe it isn’t that those productive people are doing things than I am, just that they are doing different things.

Ok, so I didn’t make candles, sew new garb, finish several pieces of jewelry, sort through my photos and burn all my CDs to MP3s last week. I did get my taxes done, read a book, finished writing a story, packed up some of my books and made travel plans for a trip to Baltimore/D.C next month. True, I never got around to spending an hour doing yoga, but I did spend an hour visiting a friend. We all get the same amount of time. What gets done with it is a choice.

I have spent far too much time being envious of other people’s choices. Now that really is a waste of my time. If I really want to do all the things that I read about my friends doing, then I should just do them. If I’m not willing to give up a 45 minute hot bath to tie-dye a shirt, then that is my CHOICE. It isn’t a bad thing or a good thing, it just is.

Yeah, I can hear some of you going DUH from here. What can I say, sometimes my learning curve looks more like a runway. On the upside, the plane eventually takes off.

It is one A.M. here. I think I am going to choose to spend the next 8 hours or so sleeping. Good night.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

