Melina Gunnett

July 5, 2011

The Plains

Filed under: Photographs, Travel — Melina Gunnett @ 1:39 AM

Yesterday was mostly travel.  Granted, I got a late start.  First the hotel hot tub lured me in then I met a friend for lunch.  Runzos kind of taste like a meat based stuffing to me; fortunately I like stuffing.

Last time I drove through Omaha was about 10 years ago. I think they are still working on the same road construction project.  Unfortunately there has also been a lot of flooding.  Finding a way north to South Dakota was a bit of a challenge.  I ended up taking back highways most of the way.  It was slow, but I got to see a lot of the area.  It’s beautiful.  Lot’s of small towns and lots, and lots and lots of farmland.

   
       
       
   In Mitchell South Dakota there is a palace made of corn…OK, it is actually more of an auditorium.  I think they use it for local sport games, or at least the used to.  The floor between the stage and the seating is a large gift shop selling lots of Great Plains related memorabilia.

I almost made out out with my pocket book unscathed, then I found a book on Indian legends and beliefs.  As long as I was spending money I bought an ear of caramel corn. YUMMY!!

Corn Palice

The Mitchell Corn Palice - Click to see a slide show with more images of the Corn Palice.

 
       
       
       
       Haning Flags for the 4th.
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

