Melina Gunnett

July 6, 2011

My Dear Brother

Filed under: Poetry — Melina Gunnett @ 10:57 AM

Your bring my such sadness, dear brother
To see the bonfire which burned in your soul
Quenched, the last embers doused
With waters of darkness
And by your own hand.
New life, young and tender, like kindling
Brought about a burst of flame
But it too is being put out
By the waters of pain
That flow from your heart.
What will you do when the flame is all gone?
Do you realize how dare the darkness is
With not even a spark to light our way?
For you dear brother, I will hold a spark.
I will keep it burning in the piece of yourself
You trusted to me so long ago
When you dared to call me sister.
I will hold it for hope.
I will hold it for healing.
And when you are ready, my dear brother,
I will return it to you
That your flame may burn again.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

