Melina Gunnett

July 8, 2011

On the Road

Filed under: Odd Thoughts — Melina Gunnett @ 10:02 AM

When I started out on my trip across country I had two goals. One was to see the country. The other was to learn to be responsible to myself and no one else. The first goal was an undeniable success. Yeah, there is still a lot more to see. America is a big continent. I could travel for years and not see half of it, but I did get to see a lot of the country. The second goal, well not so much.

 

I guess in a way it I manged to be responsible just to myself, but I didn’t capture the feeling of freedom and whimsy I used to have. In some part I set myself up for failure on that part from the start. I booked rooms across the country before I left. This was my mistake. I figured it out not far into my trip, but unless I was willing to risk not finding a camp spot in Rockies near Yellowstone or the Tetons, I needed to keep to the schedule.

 

I shouldn’t have worried so much about it. Yeah, the camp areas all filled up a night, but all I had to do was get there in the afternoon and I could have founds someplace. Apparently my internet skills aren’t as good as I thought they were when in came to finding hotels. There are tons of smaller hotels near the park and one of the girls I met along the way showed me a better way to hunt down hostels.

 

Less scheduling would have freed me up to change my plans on a whim, which is what I really needed to be able to do. There were several places along the way where I wanted to stay an extra night or two and even more where I either wanted to stop because I was tired or arrived at my destination early and would have liked to keep going for another day or two.

 

Instead, I ended up seeing things at a break neck speed and not taking the time I would have liked to really appreciate them. The Badlands were the only place that I scheduled an appropriate amount of time. Hopefully I’ll get the opportunity to do this again and see some of the things I had to take a miss on because of time constraints.

 

I did learn a lot for my next trip. And there will be another trip. Probably a lot more. The biggest one is that I have become my worst taskmaster. I don’t know how to relax and enjoy things in the moment anymore. That is still something I need to work on and I plan to continue to do so. The only time I’m really happy is when I am living in the moment and I deserve to be happy.

Now back to the road.  This trip isn’t over yet.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

