Melina Gunnett

January 19, 2012

It’s good to be home

Filed under: Odd Thoughts — Tags: , , , , , , — Melina Gunnett @ 6:09 AM

I’m tired of traveling. Words I thought I would never hear myself say.

Don’t get me wrong. I still love to go new places, meet people and see things I have not seen before. I’m just tired. A sure sign that I was ready to be off the road was when I stopped grabbing my camera before I went out the door. I hardly took any pictures at all on this last trip and I LOVE to take photos of cool things to share with people.

The highlights of the last month –

I spent a week in San Diego with my step dad. The weather was nice, it was San Diego after all. I know the traditional image of snow covered trees and white fields is how most of my friends picture Christmas. That image isn’t one that ever made it past holiday cards in my mind. Even after moving to New England I still spent most of my Christmases in San Diego. Giant palm trees with big red bows is the image that comes to my mind. Although, this year I was a bit disappointed. They didn’t put up the ribbons on the trees at the airport. I got over it and had a nice Christmas anyway.

After Christmas I hopped another plane to Baltimore. Chalice_chick, bless her, came and retrieved me in the middle of the night despite having to work the next day. I would have put her on my list of awesome people for doing that, but she was already on it.

Fortunately, that visit was all about spending some time with friends. Our one attempt to go out and do something that didn’t evolve just hanging out was a total bust. We went to a spa. How on earth can you go wrong with a spa you ask? Easy, you show up on the one day that they have an incident and are forced to drain their pool. They were going to have it back up soon… all day long. On the up side, it did force me to use the sauna. If I ever win the lottery I am so going to have a bed made out of little warm balls. Yeah, I know, my odds of winning would be better if I actually played the lottery, but not by much.

New Years was spent just the way it should be – playing games and watching silly movies with friends.

A few days later I took another big metal bird to Boston. I had really hoped to see a lot more people while I was in Boston, but my body had other ideas. I spent the first few days fighting a migraine. I eventually won and got out to see some people. I thought about seeing more people, but I decided it would be more fun to catch a computer virus and spend days obsessing over getting my laptop up and running again.

Oh, I eventually got it running again, but it meant that I went into ARISIA already deeply effected by sleep deprivation. When I get more sleep at a convention than in the week leading up to it, something is wrong with the world.

ARISIA was a bit of a mixed bag for me. The convention itself was great. I enjoyed being on panels this year, managed not to get sucked into any of the behind the scenes drama that always comes with any large convention and had a great time at the book release party for UnCONventional. Sadly I was so out of it by Sunday night I left my phone somewhere. Perhaps my next post will be on how pathetically dependent I am on my phone for… well… everything.

Even with the missing phone, ARISIA would have been firmly placed in the AWESOME category except for Badger. I miss her. I know I’m not alone in that. There was a large turnout for her memorial service last Friday and just as large of a turn out for the memorial Filk on Sunday. It was exactly the type of gathering she would have loved.

So now I am back in Washington. I may have managed to miss any major snowstorms while I was back east, but mother nature had one waiting for me. I woke up to a good 10 inches. I guess it was her way of telling me that today was my time to relax, unpack and take it slow. Tomorrow I need to get stuff done (starting with getting a new phone), but for today I think I’ll take Momma N’s advice and go take a nap. It’s good to be home.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

