Melina Gunnett

October 23, 2012

Review – Cloud Atlas

Filed under: Review — Tags: , , , , , , — Melina Gunnett @ 8:53 PM

I walked away from this movie feeling like I needed to see it again just to catch pieces and connections that I know  I missed. I’m Okay with that, its a Wachowski film. This is a complicated movie, with six interlacing plot lines, and the same cast members portraying different characters in each vignette.

“Our lives are not our own. We are bound to others, past and present, and by each crime and every kindness, we birth our future.” Madame Horrox

 

The Cloud Atlas Sextet is a composition by one one of the characters, Robert Frobisher. Each movement represents its own time, its own story, and is the life music for the character with the comet birthmark.

It is hard to say much more about the story without giving spoilers. The acting is good all around. I even liked Halle Berry, who up until now I had always considered a fairly weak actress. The make up and consumes should both be expecting Oscar nods as should the FX team.

I am surprised to see how many of the “professionals” have been panning this movie. I can understand that it isn’t to everyone’s taste. I’m not particularly fond of movies that jump around between story arcs myself, but in this particular case it is well done and I can not think of any other way to show this particular movie. Had it been filmed linearly, many of the connections would have been lost.

I suspect that the biggest problem most of these critics are having with the film is – they just don’t get it. – People tend to dislike things they don’t understand. I think this movie will go over well with it’s target audience (Science Fiction/Fantasy Fans). I know I will be buying the DVD.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

